Clapboard House :: Guide to Literary Magazines

Clapboard House logo

Clapboard House

About Clapboard House: Clapboard House publishes the finest stories and poetry written by established and emerging writers.

Contact Information:



Submission Information:

Formats: online, print Genres: fiction, nonfiction, poetry

Simultaneous submissions: yes (with notice) Email submissions: yes (see website) Online submissions: yes (see website) Reading period: see website Response time: 4-6 weeks Payment: no Contests: yes (see website) Founded: 2007 Issues per year: 3

Publisher's Description: We revel in discovering the work of never-before-published writers and showcasing work from established writers as well. We read stories of 3000 words max. We prefer to feature poets with three poems representative of their work.

We have had contests judged by writers such as Dorothy Allison, celebrated author of Bastard out of Carolina; Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang, a critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller. Our poetry contests have been judged by distinguished poets such as Michael Waters, author of Gospel Night, and Eric Nelson, author of The Twins.

The Best of Clapboard House, a print anthology of the finest short stories, poetry, and nonfiction we have been privileged to publish, was released during the fall of 2012 and will shortly be available on We are planning to publish annual anthologies showcasing the best from the past year.

We are pleased to be affiliated with the Internship Program of the Writing and Linguistics Department of Georgia Southern University.

Whether we are considering the work of an award-winning, much published writer or the first submission of a fledgling writer, our expectation and only requirement of both is excellence.

Recent Issues:

Clapboard House Issue No. 13 is now, and finally, live! Come check out all the great authors and poets that contributed to this long gestating issue: they deserve your attention! Fiction writers include Cassandra Dunn, Elizabeth Silverman, Frank Scozzari, Jeff Lacy, Peter Myers, Robert P. Kaye, Ryan Murphy, Sidney Thompson, and Vinton Rafe McCabe. And poetry writers include Allison Thorpe, C. Wade Bentley, Clyde Kessler Daniel Ruefman, Ed O’Casey, Holly Brown, John Grey, Marcel Gauthier, Ray Nayler, and Shannon Quinn.


last updated 3/10/2014