The Cossack Review :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The Cossack Review cover        Buy current issue now

The Cossack Review

About The Cossack Review: An independent journal of excellent new writing. Publishing meaningful, exciting work since 2012.

Contact Information:

Editors: Christine Gosnay, Ruben Quesada, Brian Kornell




Twitter: @CossackReview

Subscription/Submission Information:

Formats: print, online, e-pub

Genres: fiction, poetry, cross-genre, interviews, translations

Simultaneous submissions: yes (with notice) Postal submissions: no Email submissions: no Online submissions: yes (see website) Reading period: year-round Response time: 1-5 months Payment: copies Contests: no ISSN: 2168-0124 Founded: 2012 Issues per year: 2 Copy price: $6 Average pages: 90 Subscription (ind) 1 year: $17 (print); $5 (e-pub)

Publisher’s description: The Cossack Review prints new writing beautifully—electronically and in print. Our mission is to bring works that display a depth of meaning together, to unite them, and to offer a lasting, powerful, and exciting experience to our readers.

The poetry and prose we publish is rich in imagery, understanding, humor, pathos, exploration, and style. Our aim is to adhere to only one artistic principle: excellence.

As an independent literary review, The Cossack Review's editorial team considers previously unpublished poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and translations. The writers whose work we have printed range from previously-unpublished individuals to winners of the Pushcart Prize and National Book Critics Circle award, as well as contributors to anthologies such as Best American Poetry, and more.

Recent Issues:

Issue3, Spring 2014: An examination of being, belonging, and place: along with the continuation of our 5 Questions For Poets series, featuring Troy Jollimore, Phillip B. Williams, and Tomás Q. Morín, Issue 3 showcases exciting new work from 25 writers, including Adam Moorad, Mary Biddinger, Jacqueline Berger, Aaron Belz, Brandon Lewis, Jaime Green, Glenn Shaheen, Eric Nguyen, Brian Simoneau, Afaa Michael Weaver, and William Kelley Woolfitt.


last updated 04/03/2014