is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

2019 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize Winners

Published September 24, 2019 Posted by

The Fall 2019 issue of Ruminate features the winning entries for the publication's annual William Van Dyke Short Story Prize. The final judge for 2019 was Tyrese Coleman.

First Place
"DrownTown" by Joshua Gray

Second Place
"Parkside" by Kate Bradley

Honorable Mention
"Standard Uniform" by  Shelley Linso

Read more about each author in addition to the judge's comments about their works here.

The 2020 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize, awarding $1500 to the winner, is open until February 15, 2020.


We welcome any/all Feedback.